Fernand Baudin Prize 2011

This book presents the winners of the Fernand Baudin Prize 2011 for the most beautiful books in Brussels and Wallonia.

The Fernand Baudin Prize, the Prize for the Most Beautiful Books in Brussels and Wallonia, has been initiated by several graphic designers/ teachers active in the world of the book. For its first edition in 2008, the Prize was supported by Brussels Invest & Export and was limited to the Brussels Region. In 2009, support from Wallonia-Brussels International (WBI) and Wallonia Foreign Trade and Investments Agency (AWEX) made it possible to extend the Prize to Wallonia.

In 2010, on the eve of the third edition, an open call was made to graphic designers, publishers and printers, but also artists, booksellers, curators, historians and other professionals linked to the rapidly changing sector of the book, to take part in the organisation of the Prize. There was a huge response and after several meetings they established an organizing Committee that, among other things, chose the President of the international Jury and the Belgian members of this Jury.

As the Committee wished to consolidate the organisation and coordination of the Baudin Prize for the next editions, they founded in 2011 a non-profit association, the Prix Fernand Baudin Prijs, with a board of directors that consists of book professionals, who, for obvious reasons of neutrality, can’t compete. This board of directors consists of Wim Clauwaert (president) – bookseller at the Wiels’ bookshop in Brussels, Bernard Marcelis – art critic and responsible for the artbook section at bookshop Filigranes in Brussels – and Christophe Poot – illustrator and responsible for the comic book and graphic novel section at bookshop Tropismes in Brussels. The General Assembly of the association, as a replacement of the old Committee, consists of 15 members and has, among other things, the power to nominate the directors, to approve the budget and the accounts, and to choose the President and the Belgian members of the international Jury of the competition. Annelies Lievrouw, a former bookseller at the Saint-Hubert Bookshop, a bookshop specialized in artbooks in the centre of Brussels, was appointed as delegate of the executive board, for the coordination of the organisation of the Prize.

Language: English, Frensh and Dutch